Click to add Title - University of Otago

Literacy and NCEA
Denise Hitchcock
National Coordinator Secondary Literacy
Secondary Student Achievement
Te Tapuae o Rehua
Literacy in the NZC
For each (learning) area, students need specific help
from their teachers as they learn:
•the specialist vocabulary associated with that area
•how to read and understand its texts
•how to communicate knowledge and ideas in
appropriate ways
•how to listen and read critically, assessing the value of
what they hear and read
(NZC page 16)
Curriculum Levels and NCEA
National Curriculum Levels e –asTTle
Level 3
Level 4
Level 5
By end of year:
Yr 9
Yr 10
NCEA Level 1 = Curriculum Level 6
Unless Y10 students have asTTle ‘high 5s’, likely to struggle with L2
NCEA Literacy Requirements at Level One
Minimum of 10 credits through either:
Specified achievement standards
available through a range of subjects (minimum total of
10 credits), or
Unit standards - package of three literacy unit standards
(total of 10 credits - all three required).
Literacy Unit Standards
Definition used:
Literacy is the written and oral language people use in
their everyday life and work. It includes reading, writing,
speaking, and listening.
Standards will be used by tertiary providers, workplace
environments and schools.
In schools – intended for those students who might
struggle to achieve literacy through the level 6
achievement standards pathway.
The Literacy Unit Standards
Read texts with understanding (3 credits)
Range – 3 texts of 2 different types
Locate information, describe ideas and/or purpose, evaluate in terms of
Write to communicate ideas for a purpose and audience (4 credits)
Range - 2 different purposes across 3 texts
Recommended total 500 words, including one text of at least 200 words
Ideas expressed are appropriate, organised, language appropriate, technical
errors do not detract.
Actively participate in spoken interactions (3 credits)
Range – at least a one-to-one and a small group situation
Participate, contribute to, sustain dialogue using verbal and non-verbal
Appropriate for purpose in terms of language and tone.
What is required in the standards?
Using these standards in a teaching and learning
programme should not require the development of new
assessments specific to these standards. (Reinforces the
strategy of embedding literacy within teaching and
learning programmes across the curriculum)
‘Naturally Occurring Evidence’ – derived from a students
learning programme or everyday life/workplace.
Collected from a range of authentic contexts and
obtained over a period of time. (Portfolio approach)
The reports showing that students have achieved their
literacy and their numeracy requirement will indicate
how they were achieved, that is through achievement
standards at level 6 of the curriculum or through the
purpose built literacy and numeracy unit standards.
On the School Results Summary and the Results Notice
a statement will say:
Either 'Literacy requirement met by achievement
'Literacy requirement met by unit standards'
University Entrance Literacy Requirements
Current requirements (2013):
8 credits. The literacy requirement for university entrance can be
fulfilled in either English or Te Reo Māori and Te Reo Rangatira, but not
a combination of both:
4 credits at Level 2 or higher are required in Reading
4 credits at Level 2 or higher are required in Writing.
University Entrance from 2014
10 credits (five in reading and five in writing) at Level 2 and above from
specific standards.
Students in Year 12 from 2013 may meet their UE literacy requirement
through a range of Level 2 or above standards that have been
Level 2 and 3 Achievement Standards that Contribute
Sources of information and support
NZQA Subject pages (links to Literacy and numeracy)
Literacy Unit Standards resources
Secondary Literacy Online

similar documents