Sikh Identity Lesson 2

Sikh Identity Lesson 2
WALT: Understand the meaning and significance of the Panj Kakkar.
Analyse the deeper meanings of Kes and the Dastaar.
Greeting Task: Who would like to be a brave Lion or Lioness and share their Khalsa
thoughts/poems homework?
Prayer Time - ismrn
Close your eyes, Breathe in, Breathe out, Sing along
Enjoy the experience
11 Guru Sahibs
Each one of the ten Gurus represents a divine attribute:
1. Sri Guru Nanak Dev Jee - Humility
2. Sri Guru Angad Dev Jee - Obedience
3. Sri Guru Amar Das Jee - Equality
4. Sri Guru Ram Das Jee- Service
5. Sri Guru Arjan Dev Jee - Self-Sacrifice
6. Sri Guru Hargobind Sahib Jee - Justice
7. Sri Guru Har Rai Jee - Mercy
8. Sri Guru Har Krishan Jee - Purity
9. Sri Guru Tegh Bahadur Jee - Tranquility
10. Sri Guru Gobind Singh Jee - Royal Courage
11. Sri Guru Granth Sahib Jee- the embodiment of all ten Guru Sahibs
and attributes
Why do we have the Panj Kakkar and
Sikh Identity?
Sometimes answers to our
complex questions are
simple....because Maharaj said
In Sri Guru Gobind Singh Jee 52 Hukams
(commands) he explicitly says:
Punj Kakaar di Rehat drirh kar rukhni Follow the discipline of the 5 K's strictly.
Dastaar bina nahi rehnaa Wear a turban at all times.
Sikhi kesaa-suaasa sang nibhaaouni Live and die a Keshadhaari Sikh
Countless countless pangteea in Gurbani too.
Rehat Maryada: Sikh Code of Conduct
Why do we have the Panj Kakkar and
Sikh Identity?
Although the answer is simples there are so many
more spiritual reasons as to why we keep the Panj
Kakkar. They are metaphors, reminders,
connectors and above all part of our human body.
Today we will look at the 5 Ks as they’re known in
more detail.
As we work through the next
few slides think about the
qualities your class human
had and how each of the 5
Kakkar represent those
N.B We are discussing the Panj Kakkar, if ‘you’ keep
some of them or all of them doesn’t make you
‘better’ than someone who doesn’t. They are our
uniform and have a lot of spiritual power so it is our
duty to explain why keeping kes is important etc. This
is the path laid out by our Gurus and all our journeys
are individual. There is no judgement or guilt...just
providing you with knowledge for YOUR JOURNEY.
Sikhs who have been baptised must wear the 5 Ks or 5 kakkar to show they are a Sikh.
1. Kes (uncut hair covered with a turban)
2. Kangha (comb)
3. Kara (steel bracelet)
4. Kirpan (sword)
5. Kachhera (shorts)
All Sikh women have the
surname KAUR meaning
All Sikh men have the SINGH
meaning Lion
Task: Cut out your boxes and mix and match the kakkar descriptions with the
correct images.
Extension Task: Which Kakkar do you find most interesting and why? Do you
have any questions about any of the Kakkar, if so write them down? These
can be practical/Rehat Maryada (code of conduct) questions.
If the Kirpan is removed from the case
The Kirpan is used to bless food (degh
during Ardaas, bhog of langar) because
of it’s symbolic representation.
Sikhs also highly value the use of pure
World Record Turbans and Beards...
Sikh man wears a 700 m, 60 kg turban on
the occasion of Diwali in Amritsar.
Kes and Dastaar
TASK: As we watch the video jot down why Kes and Dastaar are so important
to our Sikh uniform, connection and spirituality.
Something to make you chuckle...
ELC: We are all still unique even with
our blessed uniforms?
Homework Task: Using your knowledge of the Sikh uniform over
the last two lessons, make this blank human into a Sikh.
You can use any arts and crafts materials you ones win
a prize! You have TWO WEEKS to complete this (not next lesson
but the lesson after that)

similar documents