Chief Minister`s Award for Excellence

ACT Chief Minister’s Disability Inclusion Awards
How the awards are judged
What the judges look for
How to maximise your chances of winning
By Dianne Hamer
Chief Judge 2013
Judge 2012
The Winners of the Chief Minister’s Award for Excellence 2013
ACT Council of Parents and Citizens Association
Who are the Judges?
• Panel of 13 judges and Chief Judge
• People with Disability
• Representatives from the local community and
• Major sponsors of the event
• Members of the ACT Inclusion Council
 Limit of two years for each judge
Role of the Chief Judge
• Reviews all nominations prior to facilitation meeting
• Oversees the judging process, answers questions and
receives the final recommendations for the awards
• Reviews the rationale and assessments provided to
support the recommendations and seeks further
clarification if required
• Facilitates the group discussion to identify the
overall winner.
• Casting vote if an impasse is received.
Who can nominate?
• People, businesses and organisations that have taken significant steps
to include people with disabilities.
Organisations and businesses must be operational at the time of the
presentation of the awards and not in breach of ACT or Commonwealth
law or Human Rights Act 2004.
Based in the ACT and businesses need an Australian Business Number
Organisations nominated for an Excellence in delivering enabling and
inclusive special disability service awards must be providing a service
over and above the core business they are funded for.
Can nominate yourself or be nominated by someone else.
The Judging Process
3-4 judges assess each category.
Judges receive the award guidelines, the nominations and a scoring tool
They assess nominations individually by rating each using the agreed selection
criteria to get a total score and make notes to support their scores using the
scoring tool.
Judges meet and compare notes and agree on recommendations for winners.
The category chair judges and chief judge attend an assessment meeting to
discus and compare scores, make recommendations of category winners and
reach agreement on overall winner.
Follow up with referees may occur if required.
Category chair and chief judge can ask questions or seek further explanations.
Recommendations are confirmed for each category. Commendations may also
be made for exceptional nominations deserving recognition.
Judges must be convinced the nominee for the award is of a significant level of
excellence in order to be presented with the award.
Chief Minister’s Award for Excellence
• Judges nominate deserving nominees from the category
winners and select one overall winner
• Involves all of the judges who nominate, speak and discuss
and then vote on who they think this should be
• Last year we received a record number of nominations and
it was not possible to make a single recommendation on the
day and after much discussion the judges went away,
reread the nominations and then voted on who they
thought should win, with the award going to the
nomination with the most votes.
The Selection Criteria
Judges assess nominations against selection criteria and score each out of 10
Recognising people with disability who are leaders in Inclusion. Have
made a difference in the community, is a role model. Demonstrates excellence and
leadership, engages community to promote inclusion of people with disability.
Excellence in inclusion for mainstream services. Improves and promotes
accessibility, expands opportunities, demonstrated excellence in inclusion,
demonstrated commitment to embed inclusivity into ever day practice, involves
people with disability in crating a positive environment and culture.
Excellence in delivering enabling and inclusive specialist disability
services. Demonstrates excellence and innovation in supporting people with
disabilities above and beyond national standards, engages community to promote
inclusion, expands opportunities, involves people with disability in creating
positive environment and culture
Excellence in enabling inclusion through supporting people with
disability. Demonstrates respect for people with disability, enables and
empowers people with disability, demonstrates evidence of supporting people
with disability to achieve their goals and aspirations, engages community to
promote inclusion of people with disability in valued roles.
The 12 Award Categories
Recognising people with disability who are leaders in inclusion
• Emerging Young Leader
• Life Time Achievement Award
• Excellence in Making Inclusion Happen
Excellence in Inclusion for Mainstream Services
• Inclusion in Employment (private and public sector0
• Inclusion in Education and Training
• Excellence in Inclusion
Excellence in delivering enabling and inclusive specialist disability
• Excellence in Innovation
• Above and Beyond Award (individual or organisation)
Excellence in enabling inclusion through supporting people with
• Emerging Young leaders/support worker
• Excellence in Leadership/Inclusive Support Work
• Long Service Award
Chief Minister’s Award for Excellence – from category winners
How to maximise your chances of winning
 Have a good initiative which is sustainable , can be ongoing and demonstrated
benefits achieved.
Read the questions carefully
Ensure your response answers the questions and meets the selection criteria
Get someone else to check you didn’t miss anything
Clearly explain the impact of the initiative and benefits gained
Clearly show the number of people with disability who benefit
Explain level of input to make initiative happen eg paid job or volunteering,
number of people involved, community engagement
Select the most appropriate category of award
Provide evidence to support your claims
Provide references, testimonials, letters of support
Ensure you meet the eligibility criteria and sign the declaration
If reapplying and won previously nomination must include new initiatives.
Ask for help to complete the application form if you need it
Ask questions if you need more information
Questions and Follow Up
For further information
Phone: 6205 5638
Email: [email protected]

similar documents