Deployment Options for Kentico CMS in Windows Azure

Report
Deployment Options for Kentico CMS in Windows Azure
Azure Kentico Virtual Conference Agenda
Time
Session Information
7:00 –8:00 AM PST Are you ready? Introduction
10:00-11:00 AM EST
3:00-4:00 PM BST
Register
to Cloud Computing and Windows Azure
Register me
Speaker: Vince Mayfield, CEO Bit-Wizards
8:30-9:30 AM PST
11:30–12:30 PM EST
4:30-5:30 PM BST
10:00–11:00 AM PST
1:00 –2:00 PM EST
6:00–7:00 PM BST
11:30–12:30 PM PST
2:30–3:30 PM EST
7:30 –8:30 PM BST
Break
Get set.. Introduction to Windows Azure Development
Register me
Speaker: Brian McKeiver, Kentico MVP and Partner/Senior Developer at BizStream
Break
Go…Running Kentico CMS on Windows Azure
Speaker: Thom Robbins, Chief Evangelist Kentico CMS
Register me
Break
Deployment options for Kentico CMS on Windows Azure
Speaker: Bryan Soltis, Kentico MVP and Director of Technology and Research at Bit-Wizards
Register me
Break
1:00 PM–2:00 PM
PST
4:00–5:00 PM EST
9:00–10:00 PM BST
Best Practices for Kentico CMS and Windows Azure
2:30–3:30 PM PST
5:30–6:30 PM EST
10:30–11:30 PM BST
Advanced development with Windows Azure
Speaker: Dominik Pinter, Group Product Manager/SaaS and Cloud
Register me
Break
4:00–5:00 PM PST
7:00–8:00 PM EST
12:00–1:00 AM BST
Speaker: Bryan Soltis, Kentico MVP and Director of Technology and Research at Bit-Wizards
Break
Common questions for Windows Azure and Kentico CMS
Speaker: Kentico Cloud and SaaS Development Group
Register me
Register me
Agenda








Windows Azure Overview
PaaS – Cloud Services
IaaS – Virtual Machines
Windows Azure WebSites
SQL Database
SaaS – Kentico EMS+
Hybrid Solutions
Windows Azure Mobile Services
Windows Azure Overview
 PaaS
(Cloud Services)
 IaaS
(Virtual Machines)
 Windows
 SQL
Azure Web Sites
Database
 Kentico
EMS+
 Unique
URLs for everything
PaaS – Cloud Services

Traditional model

Windows Azure Project

Web Role

SmartSearch Worker Role

Cloud Service

Allows for ease of maintenance /
deployment

Azure storage based for persistent
storage

Leverages all aspects of Azure currently
supported out-of-the-box

Scriptable IIS configurations

Startup Tasks

Architecture
Web Role
Web Role
Worker Role
Windows
Azure
Storage
SQL
Database
IaaS – Virtual Machines

VM model

More maintenance

More control

File system access

Custom IIS configuration

VPN Connectivity to internal systems

Leverage any Azure component


Architecture
VM
VM
Windows
Azure
Storage
SQL
Database
Built-in and custom functionality

Traditional deployments (Website /
application)

Can deploy own SQL Server

Use own license

Can pay higher monthly cost and include
licensing
Windows Azure Web Sites

Emerging Azure platform

More geared for "low-cost" options

Can deploy directly from Gallery

Site hosted in Microsoft pool of
servers (Free / Shared)


Architecture
VM
VM
VM
VM
VM
VM
Does not leverage all of Azure
components

Currently only the Azure project
leverages storage account / CDN
functionality
SQL
Database
SQL Database
Relational Database
hosted in Azure
 Supports nearly all SQL
Server functionality
 Redundant SQL cluster
 3 local copies
 3 copies to “sister”
data center
 Import / Export
functionality

SQL Server 2012 / 2008 R2
Connectivity
 Security
 Deployment
 SQL Azure Migration
Wizard
 SQL Server 2012
 Red Gate Azure BackUp

SaaS – Kentico EMS+

Completely Kentico managed
solution

No setup / deployment

Upgrades / hotfixes applied
automatically

Can still develop custom code

License included in hosting fees

http://www.kentico.com/plus

Architecture
Kentico
EMS+
SQL Database
Windows Azure
Storage
Hybrid Solutions

Local web server / SQL Azure




Architecture
Open SQL Azure to IP (firewall rule)
Azure web server / Local SQL Server

Not typical due to security of opening
SQL Server up

Can secure via VPN to local SQL
server
Local Server
Local web/SQL, CDN

All resources local except large files
stored in Windows Azure

CDN paths leverage throughout
application to load resources from
storage

Minimize DB size
SQL
Database
Windows
Azure
Storage
Windows Azure Mobile Services



Fast, REST-based backend
for applications
Mobile-focused
Support for multiple
systems

Windows 8

Windows Phone 8

iOS

Android
Scheduler
 Identity / Authentication
 Scalability
 Push Notifications
 Logging

Questions

[email protected]

@bryan_soltis

www.bitwizards.com/blogs/bryansoltis

www.linkedin.com/pub/bryansoltis/2/943/b3a/

similar documents