Medicines Management Update July 2013

Report
Medicines Management
Update
Leigh Lord
Locality Lead MM Pharmacist
3rd July 2013
Overview
• Team & how we can support practices
• CCG Medicines Management priorities
• Recent clinical guidelines
• Communication
• PGDs & related issues
• Amber drugs & monitoring
• NMP – governance & workforce development issues
• Contact details
Medicines Management Team
• Lead pharmacist
• Three clinical pharmacists
• Four technicians
• Key areas of work;
• Practice work – clinical & technical
• Medicines Information
• Specialist areas – e.g. Scriptswitch, mental health, funding requests and
commissioning panel, GMMMG, PGDs, safety & governance
• Commissioning Support Unit & local area team
Support for practices
• Clinical Audit
• Medicines Information
• Repeat prescribing
• Key areas from priorities
• QoF
• PGDs
• NMP
• Interface
CCG Medicines Management Priorities
•
•
•
•
•
Integration – interface, secondary care liaison & shared care
Clinical audit – care homes, respiratory, osteoporosis & non oral analgesia
Repeat prescribing – safety, governance & waste
Referrals – clinical guidelines, Map of Medicine
Admissions – audit, interface, clinical review & review of repeat
prescriptions
• QoF
• No Medicines Management targets
• Medication reviews – bloods, BP, respiratory review & support with disease
prevalence registers
Clinical guidelines
• COPD
• Lipid Modification
• Oral Nutrition Supplements
• Dermatology
• Antibiotics
• Hypertension
• Prescribing alerts
Communication
• Annual practice visits
• Regular prescribing alerts
• Guidelines
• Email – e.g. budget performance, MHRA updates – require up to date
contact list
• Education Day
Communication continued
• CCG website
• Under development
• Medicines Management section
• All relevant documentation there under sub headings
• Practice pack – pack of recent guidance, alerts, emails either paper or
electronic
• Practice managers forum
• Any other ideas welcomed
Patient Group Directions (PGDs)
• Responsibilities for vaccines and immunisations changed
• NHS England - National vaccines & immunisations programme
• CCGs – Travel vaccines & immunisations & others e.g. Salbutamol reversibility
• NHS England keen for practices to use Patient Specific Directions
(PSD)
• PGDs only in certain circumstances
• However, this is unworkable
• PGDs will be available as before
• Team are co-ordinating
Near Patient Testing – Amber drugs
• Near Patient Testing LES
• Any “AMBER” drug can be claimed for
• Monitoring required as per the relevant Shared Care Protocol (SCP)
• Available on GMMMG website or via team
• Different levels that can be claimed
Specialist Commissioning
• High cost drugs (HCDs) now assigned by commissioner
• Most of these prescribed by secondary care
• Number that are the responsibility of the CCG
• Prescribing of some AMBER medicines will change e.g. nebulised
antibiotics for CF, immunosuppressants for graft rejection
• Twelve months for this changeover
• Keep practices updated
Non Medical Prescribing (NMP)
• Many sound reasons for having a NMP within your practice
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
Governance
Access to medicines
Free up GPs time
Fits in with integration
Patients access
Triage
More skilled workforce
Wider range of services?
Non Medical Prescribing continued
• New NMP
• CCG can assist with accessing courses
• Support from MM team & nurse facilitators
• Register with NHSBSA (formerly PPA)
• Policy for prescribers
• Monitoring prescribing data
• Linked to competencies
• NMP education
Contact details
• Leigh Lord, leigh.lord@trafford.nhs.uk, 0161 873 9507
• Wendy Williams, wendy.williams@trafford.nhs.uk, 0161 873 9506
• Absar Bajwa, absar.bajwa@nhs.net, 0161 873 9506
• Hannah Dirania, h.dirania@nhs.net, 0161 873 9506
• Karen Johnson, karen.johnson9@nhs.net, 0161 873 9585
• Cal Cowen, cal.cowen@nhs.net, 0161 873 9585
• Michelle Bradburn, michelle.bradburn@nhs.net, 0161 873 9585
• Fowzia Owaisi, 0161 873 9585
Thank you
• Any questions?

similar documents