An-overview-of-Windows-Azure - DevNet

Report
Presented by Vince Mayfield
CEO Bit-Wizards
Azure Kentico Virtual Conference Agenda
Time
Session Information
7:00 –8:00 AM PST Are you ready? Introduction to
10:00-11:00 AM EST
3:00-4:00 PM BST
Register
Cloud Computing and Windows Azure
Register me
Speaker: Vince Mayfield, CEO Bit-Wizards
8:30-9:30 AM PST
11:30–12:30 PM EST
4:30-5:30 PM BST
10:00–11:00 AM
PST
1:00 –2:00 PM EST
6:00–7:00 PM BST
11:30–12:30 PM PST
2:30–3:30 PM EST
7:30 –8:30 PM BST
1:00 PM–2:00 PM
PST
4:00–5:00 PM EST
9:00–10:00 PM BST
Break
Get set.. Introduction to Windows Azure Development
Register me
Speaker: Brian McKeiver, Kentico MVP and Partner/Senior Developer at BizStream
Break
Go…Running Kentico CMS on Windows Azure
Register me
Speaker: Thom Robbins, Chief Evangelist Kentico CMS
Break
Deployment options for Kentico CMS on Windows Azure
Register me
Speaker: Bryan Soltis, Kentico MVP and Director of Technology and Research at Bit-Wizards
Break
Best Practices for Kentico CMS and Windows Azure
Speaker: Dominik Pinter, Group Product Manager/SaaS and Cloud
Register me
Break
2:30–3:30 PM PST
5:30–6:30 PM EST
10:30–11:30 PM
BST
4:00–5:00 PM PST
7:00–8:00 PM EST
12:00–1:00 AM BST
Advanced development with Windows Azure
Register me
Speaker: Bryan Soltis, Kentico MVP and Director of Technology and Research at Bit-Wizards
Break
Common questions for Windows Azure and Kentico CMS
Speaker: Kentico Cloud and SaaS Development Group
Register me
John McCarthy 1960s – “ Computation may
someday be organized as a public utility”
Metaphor
Class Instantiated as an Object – Booche
Telephone Network
Computer Network
Internet
Today – Cloud Computing
Wide Spread Adoption
Virtualization
SOA
Autonomic & Utility Computing
Details Abstracted from End User – No need
for expertise or control over technology or
infrastructure that supports them
Commoditization – Utility Basing Computing
Cloud Computing is the transformation
of computer hardware, software and
networks into a Utility just like the your
Electric Company, Water Company, or
Gas Company.
"Cloud computing is a model for
enabling convenient, on-demand
network access to a shared pool of
configurable computing resources
(e.g., networks, servers, storage,
applications, and services) that can
be rapidly provisioned and
released with minimal
management effort or service
provider interaction. This cloud
model promotes availability.
Characteristics
Deployment Models
Private Cloud
Service Models
Infrastructure as a Service
(IaaS)
Public Cloud
Platform as a Service
Hybrid Cloud
Software as a Service
PaaS
SaaS
"Gartner predicts that the most transformational
technologies included in the Hype Cycle will be the
following: Virtualization, Big Data, Cloud Advertising,
Cloud Computing, Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS),
Public Cloud Computing, and Hybrid Cloud
Computing.“
Gartner 2011 Hype Cycle Report
“Annually Microsoft invests approximately 9 Billion dollars in R&D.
As of 2012, 95% of Microsoft's 40,000 engineers are working on new
cloud applications and new cloud services.
Technology leaders like Microsoft do not invest this heavily on
technology that is a fad or has no real chance of succeeding.”
“The Cloud is fast changing the landscape of information technology
and how businesses view and utilize IT resources”
Vince Mayfield
Top five advantages of
cloud computing:
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
Pay only for what you use
Easy/fast deployment to end
users
Monthly payments
Encourages standard
systems
Requires less in-house staff,
costs
Top Objections to the
Cloud:
1.
2.
3.
Compliance Issues
Security
Control
Underlying Issues:
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
Fear
Need to Own Stuff
Control
Change
Perceived Risk
YOU COULD ACHIEVE THESE BENEFITS:
REDUCED
COSTS
FLEXIBILITY
REDUCED
COSTS
AGILITY
FLEXIBILITY
MORE
MOBILITY
HIGHLY
AUTOMATED
AGILITY
WITH AN INFRASTRUCTURE THAT IS:
EASY TO
IMPLEMENT
MORE
MOBILITY
EASY TO
END USER
HIGHLY
IMPLEMENT
PRODUCTIVITY
AUTOMATED
USAGE
SELF
SCALABLE
EFFICIENT
BASED
SERVICE
AND ELASTIC
END USER
PRODUCTIVITY
Usage
Higher Cost & More Control
Lower Cost & Higher Agility
Comprehensive set of
services that enable you
to quickly build, deploy
and manage
applications across a
global network of
Microsoft-managed
datacenters
99.95% monthly SLA
Pay
for what you use
Your Application
Your Data
Platform
App Fabric
Controller
Infrastructure
Fabric
Controller
Windows Server and Linux
Flexible Workload Support
Virtual Private Networking
VM with persistent drive
VM with persistent drive
VM with persistent drive
VM with persistent drive
> 500 miles
RESERVED INSTANCE
Server Rack 1
Server Rack 2
Application
Building Blocks
•
Cloud relational database based on
SQL Server engine
•
Use same tools, data access frameworks,
T-SQL based language
•
Global datacenters
•
High Availability and Redundancy
–
–
Reads are completed at the primary
Writes are replicated to a quorum of secondaries
Horizontal Scaling
SQL Server Authentication Only
Not all T-SQL Commands Supported
No SSIS
SQL Azure Requires Clustered Indexes
SQL Azure Lacks Access to System Tables
SQL Azure Requires SQL Server Management Studio 2008 R2
SQL Azure Doesn't Support Database Mirroring or Failover Clustering
No SQL Azure Support for Analysis Services, Replication, Reporting Services, or
SQL Server Service Broker
SQL Azure Offers No SQL CLR Support
SQL Azure Doesn't Support Backup and Restore
N. Europe
N. Central – U.S.
W. Europe
S. Central – U.S.
E. Asia
S.E. Asia
6 datacenters across 3 continents
Simply select your data center of choice
when deploying an application
CEO & Co-Founder
Bit-Wizards
Senior Software Engineer
20 Years Experience
18 Developing Windows Family of OS
MS, BS, MCPD, MCSD, MCSD.NET, MCP
USAF & US Army Veteran
Experience with Numerous Companies:
Public, Private, & DoD
Commercial Pilot & Author
Microsoft VTSP
Azure Kentico Virtual Conference Agenda
Time
Session Information
7:00 –8:00 AM PST Are you ready? Introduction to
10:00-11:00 AM EST
3:00-4:00 PM BST
Register
Cloud Computing and Windows Azure
Register me
Speaker: Vince Mayfield, CEO Bit-Wizards
8:30-9:30 AM PST
11:30–12:30 PM EST
4:30-5:30 PM BST
10:00–11:00 AM
PST
1:00 –2:00 PM EST
6:00–7:00 PM BST
11:30–12:30 PM PST
2:30–3:30 PM EST
7:30 –8:30 PM BST
1:00 PM–2:00 PM
PST
4:00–5:00 PM EST
9:00–10:00 PM BST
Break
Get set.. Introduction to Windows Azure Development
Register me
Speaker: Brian McKeiver, Kentico MVP and Partner/Senior Developer at BizStream
Break
Go…Running Kentico CMS on Windows Azure
Register me
Speaker: Thom Robbins, Chief Evangelist Kentico CMS
Break
Deployment options for Kentico CMS on Windows Azure
Register me
Speaker: Bryan Soltis, Kentico MVP and Director of Technology and Research at Bit-Wizards
Break
Best Practices for Kentico CMS and Windows Azure
Speaker: Dominik Pinter, Group Product Manager/SaaS and Cloud
Register me
Break
2:30–3:30 PM PST
5:30–6:30 PM EST
10:30–11:30 PM
BST
4:00–5:00 PM PST
7:00–8:00 PM EST
12:00–1:00 AM BST
Advanced development with Windows Azure
Register me
Speaker: Bryan Soltis, Kentico MVP and Director of Technology and Research at Bit-Wizards
Break
Common questions for Windows Azure and Kentico CMS
Speaker: Kentico Cloud and SaaS Development Group
Register me

similar documents