Counting KIDS 2014 - Kansas State Department of Education

Report
Counting KIDS 2014
Michael C. Murphy
Kansas Department of Education
New for FY15
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
Count Day Moves to September 22
Alternative School Count Days Changed
Virtual School Attendance Documentation Changed
FTE Agreements (New rule)
ESL Count Days Changed
At-Risk Eligibility
Non-proficient at-risk Weighting (No longer available)
Community Eligible Schools (August 31 Application)
New Facilities Qualifications
• CTE Incentive Program
CTE Incentive
• Districts received $1,000 for each student who were
submitted to KSDE - CTE
1. Graduated from High School
2. Obtained an industry-recognized credential prior to
graduation or by December 31 following graduation.
• Be prepared to show documentation of items 1 and 2 above.
Count Day Moves to Monday 9/22
• September 20, 2014 falls on a Saturday.
• By state statute (72-6408)
• …in any year in which September 20 is not a day on which school
is maintained, it shall mean the first day after September 20 on
which school is maintained.
• September 20, 2015 falls on a Sunday.
• Count day in FY16 will be September 21.
Counting -Two Step Process
• Step 1 - Attendance Rule
• Step 2 - Calculate Minutes Enrolled
Attendance Rules for 14-15
• Traditional Schools
• Enrolled and Attending September 22
• If Student is absent on September 22, must attend one day prior
AND one day following on or before October 6.
• If school is not open on September 22, count day moves to next
day school is in session
• Alternative and Virtual Schools
• Must be in attendance two days
• Day 1-On or before September 21
• Day 2-On or after September 22 but on or before October 6
• If traditional day moves, Alternative and Virtual days move.
Virtual Attendance
• On-line
• Documented by computer system showing when student was
connected to the online curriculum.
• Off-line
• Documented with Academic Activity Log
• Signed by student or parent if student under 18 years old
• Must be signed by November 1
• On-site
• Documented with sign in/sign out sheets showing when student was
in attendance in the classroom
• Auditors reserve the right to verify virtual attendance on other days
• Minutes enrolled can be from any single method above or a
combination
• Enrollment Handbook – Page 9
Minutes Enrolled
• Count
• Time in class
• Passing periods, not to exceed 10 minutes, between classes
• Mid-morning and/or mid-afternoon recess, not more than 15
minutes.
• Do not count
•
•
•
•
Lunch
Passing period from lunch to class
Recess that is immediately preceding or following lunch
Breaks (or passing periods of more than 10 minutes.
Minutes Enrolled - Traditional
• Based on student schedule (Enrollment Handbook – Page 3)
• Everyday the same
Minutes Enrolled - Traditional
• Based on student schedule(Enrollment Handbook – Page 4)
• Simple Block (Blue day – White Day)
Minutes Enrolled - Traditional
• Based on student schedule(Enrollment Handbook – Page 4)
• Modified Block (Use 5 days in week including count day)
Week of Count Day
• Many times when counting up minutes you will see the term
“Week of Count Day”
• Normally this would mean Monday through Friday of the
calendar week that includes the count day. For this year that
would be September 22 – 26.
• If your school is not open all five days of the “Week of Count
Day” we will use the days you are open plus the first day(s) of
the following week.
Minutes Enrolled – Part-time
• Count minutes in class plus passing period if passing from
class to class.
• More examples see Enrollment Handbook Page 5
Minutes Enrolled –Alternative & Virtual
A. Find longest day attended on or before September 21,
limited to 360.
B. Find longest day attended on or after September 22 but on
or before October 6, limited to 360
• Do the math
• (A + B) / 2 = Minutes Enrolled
• 360 + 216 = 576 / 2 = 288
Minutes Enrolled
• Used to calculate funding FTE
• Minutes Enrolled / 360 = FTE
• All FTEs rounded to one decimal place, not to exceed 1.0
• Students attending less than 18 minutes are not counted
• Exceptions:
• Special Education (All are full time, except virtual)
• Concurrently Enrolled (Minutes Enrolled / 300)
Things are not always this easy
Situations that get in the way of an easy life.
Special Education / Virtual
• Special Education Students who are also enrolled and attending
another district’s virtual school.
• District providing SPED services
• Loss of automatic 1.0 FTE
• FTE computed using actual minutes enrolled
• District providing virtual services
• Limited to minutes remaining
• Check KIDS report “Students in Multiple Schools”
• District agreements to share FTE MUST be signed by both
Superintendents
• Enrollment Handbook –Page 11 & 12
Special Education / Virtual
• SPED student served 60 minutes a day
• District correctly submits 60 minutes with IEP = 1.0 FTE
• Auditor will reduce FTE to .2 FTE
• Virtual student eligible for 360 minutes
• District submits 360 minutes = 1.0 FTE
• Auditor will reduce to 300 minutes = .8 FTE
• If SPED student receives less than 18 minutes a day.
• District correctly submits 15 minutes with IEP = 1.0 FTE
• Auditor will make exception taking student and all weightings away.
• District providing SPED can bill district providing Virtual for SPED
services to student.
Concurrently Enrolled
• High School students also attending a post secondary
institution (Technical School, Community College, State
College)
• Includes classes taught by the college at the High School
• Changes FTE calculation to Minutes Enrolled / 300
• Enrollment Handbook – Page 13
Age Requirements
• Pre-school Special Education 3 year olds
• Must be 3 years old on or before the count day
• Pre-school 4 year olds
• Must be 4 year old on or before August 31
• 4 Year Old At-Risk
• Must be 4 years old on or before August 31 (NOT 3 or 5)
• Kindergarten
• Must be 5 years old on or before August 31
• First Grade
• Must be 6 years old on or before August 31
Age Requirement Exceptions
• Kindergarten
• Student who while a resident of another state, had legally
enrolled and attended Kindergarten in said other state, shall be
eligible to attend Kindergarten in Kansas, regardless of age.
• First Grade
• Student who while a resident of another state, had legally
enrolled and attended First Grade, or had completed
Kindergarten in said other state, shall be eligible to attend First
Grade.
Homebound
• Licensed Teacher must provide service
• Document date and subjects provided to student
• Minutes Enrolled = computed as if student were in attendance in
person at school, based on student schedule.
• Do not be surprised if student is part-time, not all classes can be
provided in homebound situation.
• If Homebound student has IEP, need only document special
education services provided.
• Enrollment Handbook – Page 12
Student attends 2 buildings
• Count in building student attends the most
• If other “school” is virtual, need to determine minutes at both
locations
• If more than 50% virtual, student must be counted as a virtual
student.
• KIDS Data Element D17 used to identify virtual.
• Enrollment Handbook – Page 11 & 12
Kansas Academy of Math & Science (KAMS)
• To Correctly Enter into KIDS
•
•
•
•
•
D2, Accountability School = High School #
D15, Funding School = District Office #
D16, Attendance School = 9100 (Fort Hays State)
D24, Minutes Enrolled = 300
D25, Concurrent Enrollment = 3 (State University)
• KAMS students do not generate any weightings.
Juvenile Detention Centers
• Students who are attending a JDC on September 22 are not
eligible to be counted for enrollment in their home district.
• JDCs have three count days, funded on the highest of the
three.
• September 22
• November 20
• April 20
• JDC kids receive no weightings, however are funded at 2X
normal BSAPP.
• Enrollment Handbook – Page 14
Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility
• Students who are attending a PRTF on September 22 are not
eligible to be counted for enrollment in their home district.
• PRTFs have the option of counting students as regular
students on September 22, or using the JDC three count days,
funded on the highest of the three.
• September 22
• November 20
• April 20
• If Counted as regular – receive weightings
• If Counted as JDC – no weightings, however double funded.
• Enrollment Handbook – Page 14
Military 2nd Count
• Military Dependents, who were not included on September 22
Count, but enrolled and attending February 20
• To qualify, district must have 25 FTE or 1% of 9/22 enrollment.
• Submit to KIDS on MILT Collection (Open Feb. 20 – Mar. 10)
• Attendance window is February 1 – March 4
• All weightings available except virtual
• Enrollment Handbook – Page 12
4 Year Old At-Risk
• Must be 4 years old on or before August 31. Not 3 or 5.
• Must have 1 qualifying criteria
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
Poverty (Free Lunch)
Single Parent (Custodial Parent unmarried first day of school)
DCF referral
Teen Parent (One parent was a teen when child was born.)
Parent – No Diploma (One parent lacking diploma or GED)
Migrant
Limited English (ELL) – Student must qualify and be provided
services
• Developmentally or academically delayed (Does not have IEP)
Some Other Things
• Students who are not residents of Kansas
• Virtual – Not Counted
• Traditional or Alternative - Counted
• Foreign Exchange Students
• Must attend the equivalent of one semester or two quarters
• Need to document 558 hours of instruction
• Enrollment Handbook – Pages 14 & 15
Break Time
• After Break we will answer any questions you might have from the
first section on enrollment and then we will discuss all the
weightings, including…
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
Adjusted Enrollment
At-Risk
High Density At-Risk
Vocational (CTE)
Bilingual (ESOL)
New Facilities
Transportation
Virtual
• And more
Adjusted Enrollment
A. Current Year Enrollment (Not including virtual or 4 year old
At-Risk)
B. Prior Year Enrollment (Not including virtual or 4 year old AtRisk)
C. Three Year Average, using A, B and 2nd Prior Year Enrollment
(Not including virtual or 4 year old At-Risk)
Use highest of A, B or C plus current year 4 year old At-Risk
At-Risk
• Students who qualify for Free Lunch under the National
School Lunch Program (NSLP)
• EXCEPT
• Students who were 20 years old or older ON September 20,
2014
• Part-time Students in grades 1-12 & Non-Graded
• Virtual Students
• Community Eligible Schools
• District has 450 At-Risk count. Weighting = 450 X .456 = 205.2
Community Eligible Schools
• A program of the NSLP that gives every student in a building a
free lunch.
• Application for Community Eligible Status closed August 31.
• For At-risk purposes, the students in a Community Eligible
School must still qualify for free on their own, through either
Direct Certification or the use of a State At-Risk Application
•
•
•
•
D0265 – Goddard
D0308 – Hutchinson
D0501 – Topeka
D0608 – Keystone/NE Kansas Service Center
At-Risk - Verification
• NSLP requires verification of 3% of Income Eligibility Forms.
• Be prepared to supply to auditor the results of the verification
process that must be completed by November 15
• Changes to eligibility are, for at-risk purposes only, retro-active
to September 22.
• State at-risk applications are a separate pool of applications
that must also have 3% verifications completed by Nov. 15
• Failure to verify 3% of either pool, will result in 3% of at-risk
count removed.
High Density At-Risk
• ((Free Percentage - .35) X .7) X At-Risk Count
• Free Percentage = At-Risk Count / Adjusted Enrollment
• In the past, changing a student from full-time to part-time
would have no effect here, NOW it does by reducing the AtRisk Count
Full Time Made Part-Time
• District has 450 at-risk students out of their 1046 total
enrollment making the High Density At-Risk factor .0561 (450
/ 1046 = .4302 - .35 = .0802 X .7)
• High Density Weighting (450 X .0561 = 25.2)
•
•
•
•
One student, qualifying for free, changed from 1.0 to .8 FTE
District enrollment drops to 1045.8 (-.2)
At-Risk count drops to 449 (449 X .456 = 204.7)(-.5)
High density weighting
• 449 / 1045.8 = .4293 - .35 = .0793 X .7 = .0555
• 449 X .0555 = 24.9 (-.3)
• Losing .2 really is -1.0
Vocational (CTE)
• Funding based on minutes in an “approved for funding”
Pathway class.
• Does NOT include CTE classes provided by Technical College or
Community College
• Period 1 = 52 minutes
• Period 1 & 3 = 103 minutes
Vocational (CTE)
Period 1 = 45 minutes
Periods 1 & 3 = 90 minutes
Period 1 = 50 minutes
Periods 1 & 3 = 100 minutes
Vocational (CTE) Seminar
• Seminar = A period in the regular schedule where students
can get help from any teacher for any class.
• Average Minutes per Day / # of classes in full schedule
• 45 / 7 = 6.4 = 6
• Count # of students in all CTE funded classes X Seminar
minutes
• Reported on Principal’s Building Report
Vocational (CTE)
• Checking your work
• Create spreadsheet with all CTE funded classes
• If Principal’s Building Report does not show 1905, you need to
find out why.
Bilingual (ESOL)
• Two Parts
• Student must qualify for service
• Teacher must be qualified to provide service
• Student Qualify
• Home Language Survey (required for new students only)
• Building Leadership Team or Student Intervention Team may also
recommend a student for testing
• Test (See Page 21 of Enrollment Handbook for list of approved
tests.
• If test show limited in any domain, student is eligible for service
Bilingual (ESOL)
• Teacher Qualifications
• On or before count day the teacher must have
•
•
•
•
•
Kansas ESOL endorsement
Kansas ESOL waiver
Kansas ESOL provisional license
Kansas restricted license (having passed the ESOL Praxis)
ESOL Plan of Study
• Classes must have started prior to count day
• Must be making annual progress
• Must complete within 5 years (3 years if started after 9/20/13)
• Passed Praxis and applied to KSDE for endorsement
See page 22 of Enrollment Handbook for more information
Bilingual (ESOL)
• ESOL Para time
• Para must be supervised by qualified ESOL Teacher
• Must record “Frequent and Productive” meetings
• At least once per week, to review
•
•
•
•
Lesson Plans
Instructional Strategies
Evaluation Techniques
Weekly Student Progress/Challenges
• Enrollment Handbook – Page
Bilingual (ESOL) Minutes
• Student attending a regular class
• Minutes based on bell schedule
• Block schedule, use average minutes per day
• Student receives pull out services
• Minutes for the week including count day divided by five.
• Be careful, when teacher and para are working with student
together, para time is not countable.
• Students in grades 1-12 and Non-graded limited to 360
minutes
• Students in pre-school and Kindergarten limited to 180
minutes.
New Facilities
• Eligibility for new facilities
• Must have at least 25% LOB
• New facility must have been paid for from bonds authorized prior
to July 1, 2014.
• Possible that buildings or additions used for new facilities in FY14
will not qualify in FY15
• Reported on Superintendent’s Organization Report (SO66)
• Enrollment Handbook – Pages 18-20
New Facilities
• New School Building
New Facilities
• New Addition (Room by Room Totals)
• All classes every day ---------------------
• Block Schedule
Transportation
• Any student for whom transportation is provided at district
expense regardless of distance should be counted by the
district.
• Report two items in KIDS
• Transportation Miles
• Transportation FTE
Transportation Miles
• Distance measured from front door of house to front door of
school using the most direct route.
• Do not round up (2.46 miles would be reported as 2.4)
• Document any road closures that are in place on the count
day.
Transportation FTE
• Student riding a regular route bus round trip (home to school
to home) = 1.0
• Student who rides one way = .5
• Ex. Student rides regular route bus in AM, Special Ed. bus in PM
• Student who rides a special ed. funded bus both ways = 0
• Special Ed. transportation funded separately
• Private school students also enrolled in the public school =
limited to their enrollment FTE
Transportation
• Students transported 2.5 miles or more, additional
requirements
• Address
• Where student lives, not where picked up/dropped off
• Do NOT report PO Box
• City
• Zip
• Required of all students
Transportation (Non-Resident)
• Generally, districts are not allowed to cross into another
district to pick up students without the permission of the
other district, however state statute allows in one case
• Student lives in District A, attends school in District B, if
distance from home to school they would attend in District A
is 2.5 miles or more, District B may submit an Application for
Out of District Attendance and Transportation.
• This rule does not apply if either District has territory in
Johnson, Sedgwick, Shawnee or Wyandotte counties.
• Districts transporting out of district students receive NO
transportation weighting
Virtual Weighting
• Enrollment FTE X 1.05
• Enrolled in an Advanced Placement Class = .08
• Available for both Fall and Spring semester (MILT Collection)
• Does resident district offer the AP Class?
• Yes – Not eligible for weighting
• No
• 1. Is resident district enrollment less than 260.0?
• 2. Is resident district less than 200 square miles?
• Both YES, not eligible for AP funding
• Non-Proficient weighting no longer available.
Fiscal Auditing on the Web
• http://ksde.org/Agency/FiscalandAdministrativeServices/FiscalAuditing.aspx
•
•
•
•
Audit Guides
Calculators
Guidelines
Sample Forms
• Contacting Mike Murphy
• [email protected]
• 785.296.4976

similar documents