Presidential Cabinet 2008-2012

The Executive Branch
• The executive branch is made up of four parts
Vice President
Executive Office of the President
Current Cabinet
Department of State
Secretary John Kerry
Department of the Treasury
Secretary Jack Lew
Department of Defense
Secretary Chuck Hagel
Department of Justice
Attorney General Eric H. Holder, Jr.
Department of the Interior
Secretary Kenneth L. Salazar
Department of Agriculture
Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack
Department of Commerce
Acting Secretary Rebecca Blank
Department of Labor
Acting Secretary Seth D. Harris
Department of Health and Human Services
Secretary Kathleen Sebelius
Department of Housing and Urban Development
Secretary Shaun L.S. Donovan
Department of Transportation
Secretary Ray LaHood
Department of Energy
Secretary Steven Chu
Department of Education
Secretary Arne Duncan
Department of Veterans Affairs
Secretary Eric K. Shinseki
Department of Homeland Security
Secretary Janet A. Napolitano
Vice President
Presidential Cabinet
The Presidential Cabinet is appointed by
the President and approved by the
It is a group of people put in charge of
specific departments of government
and are the top advisors to the
President in the respective
Secretary of State
• Acts as the senior executive department of the U.S.
government; serves as the president’s principal adviser
on U.S. foreign policy; conducts negotiations relating to
U.S. foreign affairs; and advises the president on the
appointment of U.S. ambassadors, ministers, consuls
and other diplomatic representatives.
Hillary Clinton
John Kerry
Secretary Treasurer
• Promotes prosperous and stable American and
world economics. In charge of the money!
Timothy Geithner
Jack Lew
Secretary of Defense
• Trains and equips the armed forces through the
four military departments — the Army, Navy, Air
Force and Marines. (The Marine Corps. is a
second armed service in the Department of the
Leon Penetta
Chuck Hagel
Attorney General
• Heads the Department of Justice —
Represents the citizens of the United States by
enforcing the laws in the public interest.
Eric Holder
Secretary of the Interior
• Protects and provides access to the nation’s
natural and cultural heritage and honors
responsibilities to Native American tribes and our
commitments to island communities.
Kenneth Salazar
Sally Jewel
Secretary of Agriculture
• Directs the production of agriculture, food safety,
nutrition, rural American trade, natural resources and
Tom Vilsack
Secretary of Commerce
• Promotes job creation, economic growth and a
sustainable development and improves living
standards for all Americans.
John E. Bryson
Penny Pitzker
Secretary of Labor
• Prepares the American work force for new and
better jobs and ensures the adequacy for
America’s workplace.
Hilda Solis
Thomas Perez
Secretary of Health and Human
• Protects the health of all Americans and provides
essential human services, especially for those who
are least able to help themselves.
Kathleen Sebelius
Secretary of Housing and Urban
• Provides a decent, safe and sanitary home and
suitable living environment for every American.
Shaun Donovan
Secretary of Transportation
• Oversees the formulation of national transportation
policy and promotes intermodal transportation.
Ray LaHood
Anthony Foxx
Secretary of Energy
• Fosters a secure and reliable energy system that is
environmentally and economically sustainable, to
be a responsible steward of the nation’s nuclear
weapons, to clean up facilities and to support
continued U.S. leadership in science and
Steven Chu
Ernest Moniz
Secretary of Education
• Ensures equal access to education and promote
education excellence for all Americans.
Arne Duncan
Secretary of Veteran Affairs
• Serves American veterans and their families with
dignity and compassion and acts as the principle
advocate in ensuring that they receive help in
recognition of their service to the nation.
Eric Shinseki
Secretary of Homeland Security
• Concerned with protecting the American homeland
and the safety of American citizens.
Janet Napolitano
Rand Beers
Cabinet Level Officers
• The Presidents main advisors that often
determines final decisions, often referred to as
the White House Staff.
• Sometimes referred as the true power of the
President since they are always involved in the
final decision making processes.
Vice President
• Second in charge and line of succession and leader
of the Senate. Over time the President has assigned
many more responsibilities to the Vice President.
Joseph Biden
Chief of Staff
• The highest ranking member of the Executive
Office of the President of the United States
and a senior aide to the President.
Jack Lew
Denis McDonough
Director of the Office of Management
and Budget
• The largest office within the Executive Office of the
President of the United States. The are in charge of
balancing and managing the budget of the United
Jeffrey Zients
Silvia Mathews Burwell
United States Trade Representative
• The United States government agency responsible
for developing and recommending United States
trade policy to the President of the United States.
Ron Kirk
Michael Froman
Administrator of the Environmental
Protection Agency (EPA)
• Protects human health and safeguards the natural
environment. Conducts research on the adverse
effects of pollution and on methods and equipment
for controlling it.
Lisa Jackson
Gina McCarthy
Ambassador of the United Nations
• The leader of the U.S. delegation to the United
Susan Rice
Samantha Power
Chairman of the Council of Economic
• A group of three respected economists who
advise the President of the United States on
economic policy
Alan B. Krueger
Jason Furman
Small Business Administration
-SBA is agency that provides support to
entrepreneurs and small businesses.
Karen Mills
Jeanne Hulit (acting)
White House Staff
• White House Chief of Staff
Denis McDonough
• Environmental Protection Agency
Acting Administrator Robert Perciasepe
• Office of Management & Budget
Jeffrey Zients, Deputy Director
• United States Trade Representative
Ambassador Demetrios Marantis
• United States Ambassador to the United Nations
Ambassador Susan Rice
• Council of Economic Advisers
Chairman Alan B. Krueger
Small Business Administration
Administrator Karen G. Mills

similar documents