3rd Annual Advanced Placement Summer Academy

Report
Directed by the Office of Continuous School
Improvement of Central Intermediate Unit # 10
Dr. J.Hugh Dwyer, Executive Director
Bobbie W. Pfingstler, Ed. D. – Director
Luann Boulton – Administrative Assistant
July 30, 31 and Aug. 1, 2, 2012
Bellefonte Area School District
 Superintendent: Dr. Cheryl Potteiger
 Assistant Superintendent: Michelle Saylor
 CIU # 10 Board of Director: George Stone
 High School Principal: Jennifer Brown
 Vice Principal: Daniel Besch, Jr.
 High School Office: Bonnie Gephart
and Carol Olson
 Computer Technician: Paul DeMille
 Head Custodian: William Cain
Left to Right:
Kenn Pendleton: AP Statistics
Michael White: AP Calculus
Maureen Nosal: AP Biology
Ed Austin: AP US History
Peter Drewniany: AP English Literature
Vince Lankewish: AP English Language
Name
Course
District
Mandy Biddle
Biology
Bald Eagle Area
Daniel Sharp
Biology
Bellefonte Area
Jo Ellen Simcox
Biology
Philipsburg-Osceola Area
Charles Vipond
Biology
Philipsburg-Osceola Area
Paul Keser
Calculus
Clearfield Area
Gregg Kohlhepp
English Language
Bellefonte Area
Roxanne Miller
English Language
Moshannon Valley
Kate Hoffman
English Literature
State College Area
Jennifer Richardson
English Literature
Bellefonte Area
Susan Besch
Statistics
Bellefonte Area
Daniel Craig
Statistics
Bald Eagle Area
Kristofer Albright
US History
Clearfield Area
Bryan Bechdel
US History
Philipsburg-Osceola Area
Last Name:
Bay
First Name:
Courtney
Email Address:
cbay@hpreg.org
Biddle
Mandy
mbiddle@beasd.org
Bowser
Yvonne
bowsery@bedford.k12.pa.us
Gesin
Stephen
sgesin@csca.us
Hartman
Bob
rhartman@indians.k12.pa.us
Kennedy
Bridget
bkennedy@vgsd.org
King
Nathan
nak30@mcsdk12.org
Lyle
Sarah
slyle@bwschools.net
Nagarajan
Raj
nagarajanr@mhs-pa.org
Perkins
Wendy
perkins@wps.k12.va.us
Pete
Benjamin
bipete@comcast.net
Prokopchak
Julie
jprokopchak@hcsd.iu5.org
Sharp
Daniel
dsharp@basd.net
Shriver
Scott
sshriver@avonworth.k12.pa.us
Simcox
Jo Ellen
jesimcox@pomounties.org
Tasco
Tom
ttasco@wvwsd.org
Verhovsek
Karyn
eber@atlanticbb.net
Vipond
Charles
trvipond@pomounties.org
Vorse-Yu
Sharon
otterloonsmy@yahoo.com
Voytek
David
dvoytek@wiu.k12.pa.us
Hackenberg
Diane
dhackenb@dejazzd.com
June
Kelly
kjune@loyalsocklancers.org
Kohlhepp
Gregg
gkohlhep@basd.net
Miller
Roxanne
rmiller@movalley.org
Douglas
Theresa M.
douglas@windstream.net
Hoffman
Kate
kap17@scasd.org
McClain
Dina
dmccclain@windberschools.org
Richardson
Jennifer
jrichard@basd.net
Smith
Joseph
changsmith2@msn.com
Taylor
Megan
mtaylor@wrsd.org
Albright
Kristofer
kalbright@clearfield.org
Bechdel
Bryan
bbechdel@pomounties.org
Chester
Molly
mchester@avonworth.k12.pa.us
Dickerson
Michelle
mdickerson07@gmail.com
Getty
Cheryl
cgetty@cdschools.org
Walters Zimmerman
Truly
tzimmerman@seal-pa.org
Kakaley
Michael
mkakaley@bloomsd.k12.pa.us
Keser
Paul
paulkeser@netzero.com
Oravec
Mike
oravec99@yahoo.com
Peachy
Crist
cypeachey@lancaster.k12.pa.us
Whysong-Krentz
Myra
mdwpavia@embarqmail.com
Williams
Wendy
wwilliams@penncrest.org
Besch
Susan
Sbesch@basd.net
Borowski
Peter
PJBorowski@washoeschools.net
Craig
Daniel
dcraig@beasd.org
Biology
“Couldn’t teach the new curriculum rearrangement without this workshop.”
“By far, the most informative teacher development conference I have been to. Very crucial for all the
new AP Biology changes. Maureen is great.”
“I will redesign my AP Bio Labs to be more inquiry based and will rewrite curriculum to match College
Board’s new curriculum.”
“The instructor helped to build confidence and confirmed that I am already doing a lot of great things
in my AP course.”
“I plan on spending time reorganizing my course and how I teach. The emphasis on inquiry will
become more central in my approach to teaching. Please continue to offer the AP Summer
Institutes.”
English Literature and Composition
“Really gained ideas for teaching poetry and analysis in class, along with a formalist approach to short,
close readings for analysis.”
“My week at the institute was enjoyable, well organized, and the IU Directors were friendly. Thanks
for recruiting high quality instructors.”
Calculus
“Mr. White is a fantastic instructor with an abundance of valuable ideas.”
“The graphing calculator presentations were well done.”
“This was amazing. I know I have a lot of work to do, but I can see so many ways I can improve my
teaching.”
“I would love to have Mike White spend more time with me and my entire math department.”
English Language and Composition
“Vincent stuck to the time, giving us all we asked for, was flexible with what we needed, and was
incredibly generous with ALL – and his time.
“Bring him back.”
US History
“Edmund Austin - excellent presentations and amazing presenter.”
“Ed was very knowledgeable and offered practical solutions and suggestions to help students be
successful in AP.”
“Awesome! I have been teaching for 25 years and got so much out of this seminar.”
Statistics
“I really enjoyed and learned more about linear regression, the connections of the (x 2) chi-square test
and matrices, and also simulations.”
“Thanks to Bobbie, Luann and Kenn for a great week.”
“Would like a second Statistics class to this one.”

similar documents