Students from Finland

Students from
Youth Between Dreams
and Reality
My name is Sonja Koskelainen and I’m 16 years old. I live in
Lappeenranta, Finland and I’m an upper secondary school
student. My family consists of my mum, dad and 3 sisters. I’m the
youngest in my family.
In school my favourite subjects are English, music, art and
I enjoy music a lot and I like singing and playing piano. I’ve been
taking singing lessons for almost 5 years now. I also listen to music
pretty much. I like many types of music but my favourite types are
probably rock and metal. Pop is okay too. I have many favourite
bands such as Muse, Shinedown and Disturbed.
I have many other interests in addition to music. I like drawing,
travelling and reading too. I also like watching TV and movies. I
can’t even list my favourite movies because there are so many of
them but my favourite TV series are Doctor Who and Sherlock.
I consider myself quite cheerful and I smile quite a lot. (:
Jonna Pesonen
16 years old
I live in Lappeenranta
My hobby is synchronized skating and I also
I love travelling a lot
I speak Finnish, English, Swedish and Spanish
I am social and I love meeting new people
At my free time I always skate and actually I
don’t have much time because my hobby takes
so much time
Leeni Varis
Hi there! I'm Leeni and I am a 17-year-old girl
from Lappeenranta, Finland. I'm pretty
outgoing and laid-back kind of person and I
usually get along with almost everyone.
My passions are writing, traveling and working
out and my dream would be to work with at
least one of them.
My hobbies are going to the gym, jogging and
on winter time I also do slalom and little bit of
snowboarding. I also work at a local
newspaper as an assistant journalist.
Looking forward to meet you all!
Pinja Eskelinen
Age: 16
Family: Mom, dad and three
little brothers
Languages: Finnish, English,
Swedish, French and a bit of
On my free time I love to bake
and cook. I also likedownhill
skiing, traveling, reading and
listening tomusic. My friend
and I also lead a Lego-club
foryounger kids and it's
Linda Varis
Hi, I’m 16 years old girl from Lappeenranta, Finland.
I study in Lappeenrannan Lyseon lukio ( upper secondary school ).
Languages that I study are Finnish, English, Swedish and French.
At school my favourite subjects are history and religion.
I love to relax. I watch movies and listen to music.
I’m a little choosy, but I love good food!
In the future I would like to have own family, travel and enjoy the life.
Milla Mykrä
~ 16 y.o. ~ B-day: 12.12.
~ Family: Dad, mom, small sister, big
sister, two guinea pigs
~ :) Drawing, reading, writing,
CRAFTS, Japan, travelling, light
pink, pastel colors, animals, nature,
photographing, scrapbooks, winter,
snow, mornings, decorating etc...
~ :( Spiders and bugs, dark colours,
darkness, summer, Criminal minds
etc.. ~ Speaks: Finnish (...),
Swedish, English, Japanese(, and a
little bit French)
I’m a member of two blended families,
one from my dad’s side, one from my
moms. I have one sister that I’m actually
biologically related to.
Hi! I’m Sara, 16 years old girl who loves
music, pandas, caffeine, tattoos and
old movies. My favorite subjects are
psychology, english , art and history,
math makes me cry.
On my freetime I photograph, listen to
an unhealthy amount of music, write,
draw a bit, keep an Lego- club-thing for
kids with my friend, read and sleep
way, way too little because I’m at my
most creative mode in the middle of the
My taste in music is pretty varied: my
one true love is rock, but punk, folk,
alternative and grunge have a special
place in my heart too. Really anything
that sounds good sounds good and is
worth listening.
I’m social and calm, and it takes time to
understand me. I can be pretty
confusing with all the hand gestures and
facial expressions.
Looking forward to get to know you all!
Jenni Ojala
I’m 17-years-old girl and study for first year in
our school. I like it a lot, my favorite subjects
are math, psychology, natural science,
history, etc. and everything computerrelated, because I’m such a great nerd.
I live alone, or actually with my supercute cat
called Allu. We have moved from my home
city(about 300 km away from here) to
Lappeenranta at autumn, 2012, because my
old city sucks .
I love to play, usually with computer but I like
board games too. Also I make layouts for
websites and do some other nerdie things,
like coding. And if I have some time left I
usually spend it by watching hilarious guys
on Youtube or stalking my friends on
Hello, everyone!
My name is Kim Eklund and I’m 16 years old. (And yes in Finland
”Kim” is a male name…)
I’m really interested in history, foreign countries and cultures
and collecting stamps. (Yeah, really exciting). I also belong to the
I can speak Finnish, English, Swedish, German and a little bit of
French. (Although my French pronouncation is quite horrible.)
I look forward to seeing you all!
Iiris Niemelä
My name is Iiris Niemelä. I'm 16
years old.
I live with my mother and I have
two sisters and brother, but they
don't live with us anymore.
I spend my spare time by playing
piano and hanging out with my
friends and boyfriend.
Hi! My name is Kaisu and I’m a 17-year-old
girl from Lappeenranta. I study in the local
High School for the second year, and I’ll be
graduating next year. My favorite school
subjects are maths and philosophy, but I’m
also eager to study new languages. I speak
English, Swedish, Italian and of course
Finnish, which is my native language.
I spend nearly all of my free time with music.
I play the piano and the clarinet. I also play in
two orchestras and sing in a choir. My dream
is to become a musician, so I’m taking my
hobby quite seriously. Even though I practice
a lot, I still enjoy every moment with music.
On my free time I also like to spend time with
my friends. I love watching good movies and
just hanging out. I also love travelling all over
the world, and I’m always dreaming of new
trips abroad!
Liisi Pekkola
I’m 18-year-old girl from Finland. I study in the local High
School and I’ll be gratuating next year.
There are five persons in my family; mom, dad, little sister
and little brother. I also have a boyfriend.
I speak English, Swedish, German and of course my native
language Finnish.
In my spare time I play Finnish baseball, go to the gym and spend time with
my friends and boyfriend.
The most important things to me in my life are my boyfriend, friends and
As a person I’m social, cheerful, trustworthy and open-minded.
I’m looking forward our trips to Austria and France!
See you soon!
Pilvi Kemppinen
- I’m 16 years old and I’m a horse rider and
- I speak Finnish, English, Spanish and Swedish
- I’m social person and I love travelling abroad.
- At free time I hang out with my friends and go
out for a walk with my dog
Elina Lindman
16 years old
I live in Taipalsaari (15km from Lappeenranta)
My hobbies are singing, playing piano and guitar and
dancing so I love music!
I am in CISV which is a peace organization and is building
global friendship so I am multicultural person who likes to
learn about other people and cultures
I speak Finnish, English, Swedish and little bit Russian and
I am open, social and friendly to everyone
School and hobbies take a lot of my free time but I also
love my friends and hang out with them a lot
Remember to live, love and laugh!
Can’t wait meeting you all!
My name is Iida
Horttanainen and I’m 17
years old. I live with my
mom and dad but they
have divorced. I have one
big brother and we have a
My hobbies are fitness
boxing and hiphop dancing.
I love snowboarding and I
do it often in winter. I like to
listen music and hang out
with my friends. I’m
outgoing and open minded.
Atte Kudjoi
Family : father, mother,
little brother and dog
Hobbies: football,
videogames, saving the
world etc.
I live in Imatra, right
outside of Lappeenranta.
My name is Henna Sipi and I’m a 17year-old girl. I live in Lappeenranta,
Finland with my mum, dad, 15-year-old
sister and 12-year-old brother.
I’m a really happy person and I laugh a
lot. I love to go out and to get known
with people. I speak 5 different
languages: Finnish, English, German,
French and Swedish. I have lived in
Rouen, France for 5 years and in
Gmunden, Austria for 2½ years.
My hobby is dancing and I do showand discodance. I also teach dancing to
13 - 16-year-old girls. It’s probably not
a surprise if I say I mostly like music
where I can dance to. I also love skiing
and snow but I hate cold weather.
You can find me on facebook.
My name is Milla and I’m 16 years old. I live in
Lappeenranta with my family and I go to Lyseo’s
upper secondary school. My favorite subject in
school is psychology and besides Finnish I speak
English, Swedish, French and a little bit Italian.
In my spare time I like to jog with my dog, go to
the gym, dance or play badminton. In the winter
I ski and ice-skate. I also like spending my free
time with my friends and we usually go to a
I really love travelling and learning about other
cultures. I’ve visited many countries in Europe
and I wish that someday I could visit the USA or
Australia. I also enjoy listening to music and
watching movies with my friends.

similar documents