Sacraments of Healing

Sacraments of Healing
There are two Sacraments of
•Penance and Reconciliation
(also known as Confession)
•Anointing of the Sick
What Happens in the
Sacrament of Penance and
Four things must happen when we receive
the Sacrament of Reconciliation:
1. We must truly feel sorry for our sins.
2. We must confess our sins to a priest.
3. We must be willing to make amends from
harm made when we sinned.
4. We must receive absolution and
forgiveness from the priest.
What are the Steps to
The Sacrament of Reconciliation includes the
following steps:
1. Examination of Conscience
2. Confession of sins
3. Receive Penance
4. Pray the Act of Contrition
5. Receive Absolution
Examination of Conscience
•Before you go to confession, you should
take time to think about ways you have hurt
your relationship with God. Have you sinned?
•Think about the Ten Commandments and
ask yourself if you have broken any of these.
•Visit the following link to see some
questions that might help you
What Happens During
When it is time for Reconciliation you will:
1. Enter the confessional and kneel or sit
2. Bless yourself with the Sign of the Cross
and say, “Bless me, Father for I have
sinned.” State how long has it been
since your last confession.
3. The priest may read a passage from the
4. The priest will ask you to confess your
What Happens During
5. The priest will give you your penance
(usually prayers or actions you must do).
6. The priest will invite you to pray the Act of
7. The priest says a prayer, and in the name
of Jesus, absolves your sins.
8. Thank the priest and leave the
9. Do your penance as soon as you can.
Act of Contrition
My God, I am sorry for my sins with all my heart.
In choosing to wrong and failing to do good,
I have sinned against you whom I should love
above all things.
I firmly intend, with your help, to do penance, to
sin no more, and to avoid whatever leads me
to sin.
Our Savior Jesus Christ suffered and died for us.
In his name, my God have mercy.
Sacrament of Anointing of the
The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick is a
Sacrament for those ill or in need of healing.
This Sacrament is often administered to people
who are in danger of death, to people who
come down with a new illness, or people
whose illness worsens.
What Happens in the
Sacrament of Anointing of the
A priest or bishop administers this sacrament.
In the Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick,
the priest anoints the seriously ill, injured,
or the elderly with the oil of the sick. The
oil of the sick is a special oil used for the
Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick. It
is blessed by the bishop at the Chrism
Mass during Holy Week.
What Graces do we Receive
from this Sacrament?
This Sacrament gives five special graces to those
who receive it.
1. It unites their suffering with those of Christ.
2. It brings them strength, peace, and courage
in the face of suffering.
3. It brings forgiveness of their sins.
4. It heals their soul and ensures eternal
5. It prepares them for death if that will best
ensure their eternal salvation.

similar documents