Presentation by Fazil H.Novruzov
(NTRC, Legal and International Relations Department, Senior advisor)
December, 2013
Television and Radio Broadcasting in
The history of Azerbaijan radio began in
twenties of last century. The first radio
transmitter in Baku was installed in 1924 and in
1926 the first radio station began to transmit.
The first television programme in Azerbaijan
began to broadcast on February 14, 1956.
9 nation-wide television broadcasters:
 1) AZTV (state-run channel)
 2) Culture Azerbaijan (state-run channel)
 3) Sport Azerbaijan (state-run channel)
 4) ICTIMAI (public service broadcaster)
 5) ANS TV (private broadcaster)
 6) Space TV (private broadcaster)
 7) Lider TV (private broadcaster)
 8) ATV (private broadcaster)
 9) Khazar TV (private broadcaster)
1 satellite broadcaster –
Caspian Broadcasting Company – CBC
14 nation-wide radio broadcasters
12 regional TV broadcasters
12 cable network broadcasters
Till 2002, television and radio broadcasting sphere
was regulated by the Law of the Republic of
Azerbaijan “On mass media” of July 21, 1992.
On August 6, 1998 the President of the Republic of
Azerbaijan signed the
Decree “On additional
measures to protect freedom of speech, thought and
access to information in the Republic of Azerbaijan”.
At a moment, television and radio broadcasting in the
Republic of Azerbaijan is regulated by the Law of the
Republic of Azerbaijan “On Television and Radio
Broadcasting” adopted in 2002.
However, public broadcasting is regulated by the
Law of the Republic of Azerbaijan “On Public
Television and Radio Broadcasting” adopted in 2004.
Applying of administrative measures on broadcasters
is regulated by the Code of the Republic of
Azerbaijan on Administrative Infringements.
During elections agitation and election propaganda in
television and radio are regulated by Election Code.
By the Decree of the President of the Republic of
Azerbaijan dated October 5, 2002 National
Television and Radio Council of the Republic of
Azerbaijan (The Regulatory Authority in the sphere of
television and radio broadcasting) was established.
National Television and Radio Council is created
in 2002.
 The Council is consisting of 9 members which are
appointed by the President of Azerbaijan for the
term of 6 years and which can be dismissed only
upon own free will.
 National Television and Radio Council is financed
by state budget.
 NTRC does not interfere in editorialand financial
activity of broadcasters.
Main duties of the Council are:
 to regulate television and radio broadcasting
 to protect the independence of broadcasters and
public interests;
 to carry out supervision on implementation of laws
on television and radio broadcasting.
The Council turns its attention mainly to:
 non-dissemination of information that threats state
independence and territorial integrity;
 prevention from hate speech,agitation of hatred,
terrorism, violence, national, racial and religious
discrimination, pornography and drugs;
 implementation of license provisions by broadcasters;
 showing of programs that have harmful influence on
physical, mental and moral development of minors in a
time which they cannot view them.
National Television and Radio Council can
apply following sanctions and measures:
First Written Notification
Second Written Notification
Third Written Notification
Penalty (up to 2000 manats – 2560 USD)
Bring an action against broadcaster or content
provider demanding of License revocation.
In 2006 International Telecommunication
Union adopted the Regional Agreement Plan
(RRC, Geneva 2006) according to which,
437 radio frequencies in 33 zones are
allocated for Azerbaijan.
Radio Frequency Zones allocated for
On 10 February 2011 the Cabinet of Ministers
of the Republic of Azerbaijan adopted
Decision No.26 on “Confirmation of program
on application and development of DVB-T
digital television broadcasting in the territory
of the Republic of Azerbaijan”.
According to the decision adopted in
December 22, 2011 by National Television
and Radio Council Digital Terrestrial
Television (DTT) launched in big cities and in
all border regions.
Now analogue and digital broadcasting are
carried out simultaneously.
Analogue switch off is planned by 2014.
Transition to digital broadcasting in Azerbaijan
consists of 2 stages:
 The first stage has covered the period of 2011-2012.
 Digital broadcasting with one open packet (8-12
channels) was launched in the big cities and in all
border regions.
 All existing analogue radio-relay lines (RRL) were
replaced with digital ones.
 Digital broadcasting network which covers nearly
60-70% of the population of country has been built.
The second stage covers the period of 2013-2014.
During this stage it is planned to elaborate legislative
acts, normative-technical documentations, licensing
rules and conditions as well as license tariffs.
 The main goal of this stage is to begin overall
digitalization of television broadcasting network of
the country and application of DVB-T receivers and
 It is planned to launch second or more packets
(multiplexes, each of 8-12 channels) and to provide
all territory of the country with digital TV
broadcasting by the end of this stage.
 Wide
spreading of cable networks among
 It makes the process of transition to digital
broadcasting in Azerbaijan “painless”.
 Almost all of big sities of Azerbaijan are
covered with digital cable network.
 Cable network subscribers, in first periods, no
need to get decoders, because they already
have digital cable receivers.
 The
main issue is providing of population
from remote regions with set-top-boxes.
 Azerbaijan Government will provide indigent
families with free decoders.
 Azerbaijan began to produce decoders. For
instance, now PEYK factory of the Ministry of
Defense Industry is producing them.
Article 33 of the Law on television and Radio
Broadcasting – Protection of Minors
Special Provisions of the Council – covers programs
which are being transmitted without codes and might
damage physical, mental and moral development of
minors, also programs that contains erotic and
According to the Provisions the following
programs are prohibited to transmit between
07.00 and 23.00:
Films which mainly contain cruelty and violence;
Films which describes physical and psychological
violence, sadism, vandalism, torture, dead bodies;
 Horror films;
 Films
which contain scenes of occultism,
spiritualism, some mystic behaviors, showing of
horror creatures;
Scenes of medical operations which can impact on
man’s psychology;
Shows of hypnosis;
Programs and films which describe criminal activity,
Erotic films and programs;
Films and programs which show sexual acts, describe
sex orientations, talk shows about sexual relations;
Films and drama which contain bad language,
swearing words and gestures.
Only in some cases these information are
allowed to transmit and are not considered as
a category that might damage physical,
mental and moral development of minors.
Thank you very much
for your attention!
Fazil H.Novruzov (Senior advisor, Legal and International Relations Department, NTRC)
Azerbaijan, Baku, AZ-1000, Nizami Str.145
Tel.: (99412) 598-36-59 ; 493-09-13
Fax: (99412) 498-76-68
E-mail: [email protected]

similar documents