Traditional Practices of the Lakota oyate (2)

Practices today VS Long ago
© By Richard Moves Camp
Early days
People live by spiritual laws
Spiritual laws/Wakan Wo-ope
 Wocekiye – Prayer
 Wolakota- Harmony and peace
 Wacante-ognake-Generosity
 Woksape-Wisdom
 Wowacintanka-Fortitude
 Wawuonihan- Honor
 Wo-kagi- Respect
Wakan wecohan/Seven
 Inipi -Sweat Lodge
 Humblecayepi -Vision Quest
 Nagi Gluhapi - Keeping of the Spirit
 Tapa Wakayeyapi -Throwing of the ball
 Isnati alowampi- Womanhood Ceremony
 Hunkapi- making of relative
 Wiwangwacipi –Sun Dance
History of Wakan wawicakupi/
Three sacred gifts to the oyate
 Early days of the first Ceremony;
 Inipi /Oinikage was gifted to the lakota wicasa around
the BC era.
 The second Ceremony was the Ceremonial gift called
Pte heya pa- Fire Bundle, the story of the changing
 Third gift is the Pte hincala Canunpa-Sacred Calf Pipe.
Wocekiye - Prayer
 Long ago the first gift the Lakota is the Inipi
 History of the Oinikage is passed on from
 This Inipi ritual was gifted to the Oyate as a result of a
great flood and all the oyate perished.
 The Wambli saved a Lakota wiyan (Woman). For 28
days the Wambli took care of this wiyan.
 After 28 days Wakan tanka instructed the Wambli to
be wicasa and restore the Oyate.
INIPI / Sweat Lodge
 The significance of the INIPI is about the creation.
 The fire
 The water
 The oniya/Breath of life
 The rock
 The earth /Unci Maka
INIPI / Sweat Lodge
 The Willow that are form into a dome shape represents
the whom of Mother hood.
 The INIPI represent the sacredness of the family/
Tiwahe Wakan
 Many types of Sweat Ceremonies.
What is a INIPI / Sweat lodge
 The word INIPI is short for Oinikage.
 Oinikage; meanings, people setting in a circle with one
knee up and one knee down in prayer.
 Long ago no more than twelve people can set in a INIPI
How many types of INIPI
 There are several types of INIPI Ceremonies conducted
long ago.
Men's Lodge/Wica sa echela wacekiyapi.
Women's Lodge /Wina ta oinikage.
Wakan el yapi kte /Preparation for ceremony lodge.
Akicita ta oinipi.
Heyoka ta oinipi.
Wiwang wacipi ta oinikage.
Wanaseyapi ta oinikage/preparation for hunt.
INIPI / Sweat Lodges today
 Many sweats are co-ed and prayer are one.
 Many more instruction should be made.
 Protection of our lodges should stronger.
 Many people of all nations own or sponsor INIPI in the
INIPI / Sweat Lodge Today
 Protection of our ceremonies
 Many Native American Sweat Lodge are used across
the country and internationally today.
 Exercise our rites to our ceremonies and oversee our
cultural practices.
Humbleceya –Questing for vision
 Fasting
 Prayer for vision
 Training to become healer
 Becoming of a man
 Becoming of a Medicine man / healer
Nagi Gluhapi/ Keeping of spirit
 Sometimes call keeping of soul
 This ceremony has many parts and levels.
 Wokigna- comfort ceremony; for loss and grieving.
 Mini wicakupi –Wiping of tears
 Nagi gluhapi-Keeping of Spirit.
 Wal-iyacinpi-Remembrance ceremony of honoring
Tapa wakayeyapi – throwing of the
 This ceremony is honoring the young woman’s power.
 Wiyan ta wo-wasake – power of the female will be life.
 Beaded or decorated ball by the family.
 This ball signified the beauty of life.
 The woman will throw this ball to the people, whom
ever catches the ball receives all the gifts from the
Isnati Aloawmpi –Womanhood
 Rite of passage.
 Four day ceremony when the girl reaches the age of
young woman.
 The day of celebration.
 This ceremony is conducted by elder woman and
mothers, aunts.
 All woman come to participate in this ceremony.
Hunkapi – making of relative
 Wotakuye kagapi
 Hunkaglapapi / honoring the person marking with
 Warrior do this ceremony a lot.
 Families honor their members by paint and pierce ear.
 Strengthening the family circle.
Wiwang wacipi – Sun Dance
 Started by a man whom had vision.
 Four day ceremony to renew life.
 Great ceremony of all people.
 Today this ceremony is still strong.
Traditional Lakota healers
 Long ago Healers are very protected by the people.
 Many types of healers – Doctors.
 They are not all called medicine men or women as we do
They are given titles of the kind of training and teaching
they received.
The are trained for number of years, as many years (7-10
They must speak to fourth and fifth language of lakota.
When they master /Doctorate the teaching they speak the
sixth level language.
 Yuwipi wapiya wicasa.
 Tatanka Wapiya.
 Mato wapiya.
 Ikto mi wapiya.
 Sunk manitu wapiya.
 Watunwan wicasa*
 He’haca wapiya.
 Wanagi Wapiya.
 Pejuta Wicasa na winyan.
Today healers of lakota
 All healer called by western ways as Medicine people.
 Self proclaimed healers.
 Misinterpretation of spirit
Spirit -Wakan
 Lakota people have different meaning of Spirit than
western view.
 Wakan oyate-Sacred being
 Being of different world- Akantu sni.
Wakan Tanka - God
 Lakota oyate call god –Tasina wakan, Eyotan Wakan,in
the Modern days Wakan Tanka.
 Spirits – Wakan oyate.
Phrase each other daily in family
 Ina-Mother
 Ina; means the great honorable one
 Ate – Father
 Ate; means the great protector.
Wakan wechoun ki le we cho
tawacin ki eyelo.
 The sacred way of life is about healthy mind and spirit.
 The Mind is sacred.
 Tawacin apiyapi- Healing the mind ceremony
Cultural practices today
 Renew relative making- Hunkapi
 Receive a Lakota name
 Peace making society
 Reconstruct community
 Integration cultural practices in community
government and schools.
Follow the traditional ways
 The only purpose of the Cannupa was to maintain
peace among the lakota.
 All of the ceremonies are gifted separately and remain
as sacred.
Mitakuye Oyasin
 Pila mayayelo

similar documents