Attendance Supervisor’s
Fall Conference
October 10 - 11, 2013
The purpose of the Attendance Manual is to provide local education
agencies a clear and concise method of obtaining student counts for
budget purposes, as well as a standardized method of reporting for
school accountability.
The minimum standards found in the Attendance Manual apply to all
school systems in Tennessee.
The Attendance Manual does not represent specific legal advice. For
specific legal advice, please contact your local board attorney.
Tennessee Code Annotated supersedes the Attendance Manual.
Section A
Documentation, Record Keeping, and Reporting
Cumulative folder for each student, birth certificate,
home language survey, demographic and event data for
each student, student withdrawal information, and
student’s future destination must be permanently
Director’s Monthly ADM Report, Director’s Annual ADM,
Principal’s Monthly ADM Report, Monthly Attendance
Detail must be retained for five years.
TDOE will generate pre-k reports based on data entered
in EIS.
In the event conflicts exist between teacher attendance
records and school office data, school office data shall
Excused and unexcused absences are a matter of local
school board policy as long as local policy does not
conflict with state law.
Student records are treated as confidential pursuant to
TCA 10-7-504(a)(4) and FERPA (Federal Family and
Educational Rights and Privacy Act.
Attendance must be marked daily beginning the first day
of school. Regardless of the number of students preregistered only those in actually attendance can be
counted present. (Section A-105 details teacher
responsibilities regarding attendance.)
In-school suspensions, homebound, alternative school
students, and students participating in school sponsored
events are not counted absent and their attendance is
used to calculate ADA and ADM.
Students who receive Special Education service option 7,
8, and 9 (23 hours or more a week) are not counted in
regular grade level counts.
Section A-106 includes rules for collecting and reporting
pre-k data
Section A-107 Rules for recording absentees and
reporting absentees
The Director’s Monthly ADM/ADA Report shall be
submitted for all nine monthly reporting periods. Each
monthly report must be a 20 day period with possible
exception being the ninth month.
School systems should enter discipline
events into local software. These records
are transferred to EIS.
Discipline records reported to state:
In-school Suspension
Remand/Alternative School
Section B
School Year and Day
For reporting purposes, the school year is defined as the
period between July 1 and June 30. Summer graduates
(graduating before August 1) are included in school year
just finished.
Section B-101 provides guidance for setting up
instructional day for schools.
Membership and attendance accounting for each student
will be based on the amount of time a student is enrolled
for an instructional day.
The amount of time allowed for lunch should be
excluded from the calculation of the instructional day.
Students not in school on any day for at least half the
time for which they are enrolled (6 ½ hours) should be
considered absent for state reporting.
The state minimum day for pre-k is five and one-half
hours, any time less than this is considered an
abbreviated day.
A school system that has a school day exceeding six and
one-half hours by at least 30 minutes throughout the
entire school year may apply the extra accumulated 30
minutes toward a maximum of 13 instructional days
missed because of extreme weather conditions.
School systems choosing to stockpile days must notify
state at the beginning of school year.
Use of stockpiled days pursuant to TCA 49-6-3004(e)(1)
a) Stockpile days used for inclement weather do not
require approval of commissioner of education
b) Stockpile days used for meeting instructional time due
to natural disaster, serious outbreaks of illness, or
structural/environmental conditions rendering a school
unsafe must be approved by commissioner of education.
Approval may be granted by submitting a written
request via email.
c) Stockpile days used for professional development
must be approved by commissioner of education. LEAs
must receive approval by the commissioner PRIOR to
including the days on any LEA district wide or school
All written requests for approval by commissioner must
be submitted via email to [email protected]
Faculty professional development shall be consistent
with standards and guidelines established by the State
Board of Education TCA 49-1-302 and 49-6-3004.
In order to protect the integrity of instructional time, the
following options are available for making up days lost
due to closing of schools for emergencies: reduce time
of spring break, extend school year, schedule Saturday
classes, and increase length of school day 30 minutes for
a period adequate to accumulate equivalent of days lost.
Section B-106 includes guidelines for mid-term and final
exam accounting procedures.
School systems may elect to use staggered scheduling
for pre-k classes for a maximum of ten days per school
year at the beginning of a school year.
School systems may elect to use staggered or flexible
scheduling for kindergarten only during the first ten days
of a school year. Students not scheduled to attend
during first 10 days are counted present. Students who
are scheduled to attend on any given day and are absent
on that day are recorded as absent.
For state reporting purposes, any student enrolled in an
alternative school or program must be coded as
Section B-112 provides guidelines for year round
schools. Year-round schools must submit all state
required reports.
Section C
Pursuant to TCA 49-6-3007(h):
a) In-School Suspension is defined as removed from
regular classroom, but not from school
b) Suspension is defined as dismissed from attendance
at school (not more than 10 consecutive days). Student
is included in ADM.
c) Remand is defined as assignment to alternative
school. Student is included in ADA/ADM.
d) Expulsion is defined as removal from attendance for
more than 10 consecutive days. District is not eligible to
receive funding for expelled student.
A student unable to attend class for at least two weeks
is eligible for homebound services. Homebound students
should remain enrolled and counted present.
Any student under age 18 is considered a dropout after
ten consecutive days of unexcused absences in a single
semester (TCA 49-6-3017) and system policies and
procedures on truancy have been followed.
Any student over age 18 is considered a dropout after
ten consecutive days of unexcused absences.
Pre-k participation is voluntary and not compulsory;
therefore, K-12 truancy requirements do not apply.
Students who are not residents of Tennessee but who
are enrolled in school in Tennessee shall pay tuition.
(TCA 49-6-403) Non-resident students shall not be
counted for funding purposes.
School systems must keep attendance records for pre-k
students through EIS, but these students are excluded
from BEP calculations.
Section C-108 provides guidelines for accounting
information for Special Education students. Options 7,8,
and 9 shall not be included in the regular grade level
counts on the ADA/ADM report.
Sections C-109 and 110 provide guidelines on verifying
CTE/Special Education reporting. Attendance for
students attending Career and Technical Education
classes in a different school must be reported to the
home school each day.
Section D
Each school system shall maintain a term not less than
180 days for classroom instruction. TCA 49-6-3004
Attendance must be marked daily, beginning with the
first day of school year for both elementary and
secondary school students.
A sign-in/out roster must be utilized to adjust student
attendance to comply with state minimum school day
Graduating seniors may be awarded credit earned during
their senior year after completion of 175 days of
instruction. Students not in attendance the last days of
school term must be counted absent.
Parents/guardians must be given written notice each
time a student misses five unexcused days in a school
year. Additional notices must be sent after each
successive accumulation of five unexcused absences.
TCA 49-6-3007
Students in grade K-12 in attendance at least half of the
state required minimum school day (6 ½ hours, grades
1-12; 4 hours, kindergarten) shall be counted present for
that day. Anything less than half is considered an
If testing days are scheduled within the 180 instructional
days attendance is recorded as usual. Students are not
exempt from attendance on these days.
If school must be dismissed because of inclement
weather prior to school system’s having met the half-day
requirement, the entire day must be made up or a
stockpile day used.
Off-campus participation or out-of-school activities shall
be counted as attendance only when they are school
directed, with prior approval of board of education.
Students missing class or day because of the observance
of a day set aside as sacred holiday by a religious
denomination of the which the student is a member shall
have the absence excused and be allowed to make up
any school work missed.
Section E
Enrollment and Attendance Coding
Federal law states that we cannot require parents to
provide a SSN. A copy can be requested, but refusal to
provide a SSN cannot prevent enrollment. In the event a
student does not have a SSN or guardian refuses to
supply SSN, the school system shall assign a Personal
Identification Number (PIN).
Enrollment Codes used in Tennessee
E – Entering a TN public school for the first time and not
having been enrolled in another state this school year.
E1 – Entering a TN public school for the first time this
school year and having been enrolled previously in a
school in another state this school year.
TR – Entering a school for the first time having
previously been enrolled in another TN public school,
another school on the 180th day of the previous year,
another TN school in the previous year and moved
during the summer.
TC – Entering school for the first time and having been
previously enrolled in a high priority school within the
district under provisions for public school choice in
accordance with Title 1, Part A, Section 1116.
Section E103 details Infraction Codes used in Tennessee.
Example of Table provided on page 36 in manual:
Withdrawal Codes
LEAs must account for all student
enrollments and absences until the
student officially withdraws from school.
Students must be entered as withdrawn
on the actual day of the event.
00 Drop out under 18
00 - Dropout under 18
Transfers to Adult HS, GED program or
Job Corps should be coded as dropouts.
The student remains in the cohort if
there is no subsequent enrollment.
01 Dropout 18 and Over
01 – Dropout, 18 and Over Transfers to
Adult HS, GED program or Job Corps
should be coded as dropouts.
The student remains in the cohort if
there is no subsequent enrollment.
02 Withdrawn to State Institution
02 – withdrawals should be limited to
transfers to institutions run by Children’s
Services . Use W6 if the student is
transferred to a Non-Public School.
The student is removed from the cohort.
03 Transferred in state
03 – Transferred to other Tennessee
school system.
The student remains in the cohort if
there is no subsequent enrollment.
04 – Transferred to other school
in same system
The student remains in the cohort if
there is no subsequent enrollment.
Transferred out of state
Transferred out of state. Proof that a
student actually enrolled is required.
The student is removed from the cohort.
Transferred to non-public school
in Tennessee
Transferred to any Tennessee non-public
school contained on the state list. Proof
that the student actually enrolled is
Student is removed from cohort
Doctor certified withdrawal
Doctor certified permanent withdrawal. This
code should be used only for students who are
so sick or incapacitated (in the opinion of a
physician licensed by the State Board of Medical
Examiners) that no return to school is
anticipated and the withdrawal is considered
permanent. Students with a temporary medical
condition should be kept enrolled and treated as
homebound student.
The student is removed from the cohort.
08 - Deceased
A letter from a parent or obituary is
sufficient documentation. Official written
documentation of student’s death, such as
a death certificate is not necessary.
The student is removed from the cohort.
Withdrawn to a home school; PreK withdrawn per parent request
Proper documentation required: Intent to
home school form, student immunization
record, and parent/guardian high school
diploma or GED.
Student is removed form cohort.
Court Order
11 – Court Order, or other government
mandated placement. This should be
used only in cases in which a court forbids
a student from attending school. Copy of
court order or judge’s decision must be on
The student remains in the cohort if
there is no subsequent enrollment.
Graduation prior to spring
Graduation prior to spring graduation.
The student remains in cohort.
Permanent dismissal from
Tennessee’s voluntary pre-k
Permanent dismissal from Tennessee’s
voluntary pre-k program. The program
provider must provide to the State a written
request and justification for permanent
dismissal of any child from the pre-k program.
No child is to be permanently dismissed
without consultation between and agreement
of the grantee and the Tennessee Department
of Education.
Withdrawn under the public
school choice
Withdrawn to enroll in another school
within the district under the provisions for
public school choice in accordance with
Title 1, part A, Section 1116.
The student remains in the cohort if
there is no subsequent enrollment.
TEIS transition, not eligible for
special education services
TEIS transition, not eligible for special
education services. Young child (assigned
to Grade P3) transitioning from Tennessee
Early Intervention Services withdrawn
because child determined to be not
eligible for special education services.
Completion Codes
All completions will be submitted though EIS and
all 12th graders must be given a completion
1 – Regular Diploma
3 – Special Education Diploma
4 – Certificate of Attendance (completed course
work, did not pass Gateway exams.
5 – Did not graduate
6 - GED
Section F
Alternative Programs
F-101 Adult High Schools
F-102 GED +2
F-103 Alternative Schools or Programs
Section G
State funding is based on the average number
of students transported daily who live 1.5 or
more miles from the school they attend and who
are present any part of the day.
School systems are not required to provide
transportation for pre-k, except in the event
student has IEP team that determines
transportation is needed.
Section H – Definitions and Abbreviations
Section I – Options of Special Education
Section K – Legal Appendix
Section J – Migrant and Homeless
Student is eligible for Migrant Education services if:
a) is younger than 22 and has not graduated AND
b) is a migrant agriculture worker or migrant fisher or
has parent, spouse, or guardian who is a migrant
agriculture worker or fisher AND
c) performs, or has parent, spouse, or guardian who
performs qualifying agriculture/fishing employment as
means of livelihood AND
d) has made a move in the last three years to
accompany or join a parent, spouse, or guardian to
obtain, temporary or seasonal employment in agriculture
or fishing work AND
e) has moved from one school district to another; OR in
a state that is compromised of a single school district,
has moved from one administrative area to another
within such district.
Migrant Education Program Occupational Survey – Migrant
student identification tool
Homeless – child or youth who lacks a fixed, regular,
and adequate nighttime residence
In determining whether or not a child or youth is
homeless, consider the relative permanence of the living
arrangements. Determinations of homelessness should
be made on a case-by-case basis.
Homeless children must be enrolled immediately (even
without records).
Student Residency Questionnaire
Independent Home School
Intent to Home School form (any time within school
Must be completed each year
K – 12 students: Parents must have GED or High School
Proof of immunization
Four hours per day devoted to academic study
Attendance record for 180 days
Withdrawal code 10
Provide proof of enrollment in program
Withdrawal code 06
Tennessee Virtual Academy
Provide proof of enrollment
Withdrawal code 03 – Union County
Student Classification Code K
Pursuant to Public Chapter 426 LEAs are
required to allocate funding in an equal amount
to the per pupil state and local funds received by
the LEA to state licensed residential mental
health facilities on a prorated daily basis for the
student’s length of stay, provided the following
criteria have been met:
1. The residential mental health facility operates as a
Category I special purpose school pursuant to state
board of education rules and regulations;
2. The student admitted to facility is enrolled in the LEA;
3. The student is admitted to the facility under a licensed
physician’s written order and order is based on mental
Public Chapter 426 does not apply to students in state
In addition to invoice, residential mental health facility
should provide proof of Category I status (copy of
license, TDOE letter of approval) when requesting
Relationships and References
Build relationships
 In your system, region, and state
 Area supervisors (SPED, CTE, Instruction,
Transportation, Food Service)
 RUG groups, Attendance study councils
 State attendance meetings, informational
conference calls
 Learn from others
 Create a network of support
Tennessee Attendance Manual
Tennessee Code Annotated (Education
EIS Business Rules
TN Attendance Supervisors web site
Steering Committee Members
Stacy Byrd – Chair ([email protected])
Henry County Schools, Northwest Region
Wayne Crouch – Vice Chair ([email protected])
Fentress County Schools, Upper Cumberland Region
Cindy Gilliland – Secretary ([email protected])
Dickson County Schools, Mid-Cumberland Region
Marvin Flatt – Treasurer ([email protected]
Weakly County Schools, Northwest Region
Dennis Balch – ([email protected])
Cocke County Schools, Upper East Region
Becky Bishop – ([email protected])
Kingsport City Schools, Upper East Region
Linda Commerford – ([email protected])
Athens City Schools, Southeast Region
Elaine Gilbert – ([email protected])
Washington County Schools, Upper East Region
Steering Committee Members (cont.)
Berenetta Houston – ([email protected])
Giles County Schools, Upper East Region
Corby King – ([email protected])
Putnam County Schools, Upper Cumberland Region
Delinda McDonald – ([email protected])
Franklin County Schools, South Central Region
Kathy Murray – ([email protected])
Clarksville-Montgomery County Schools, Mid-Cumberland Region
Steve Nunley – ([email protected])
Trenton Special School District, Northwest Region
Patty Phillips – ([email protected])
Bradley County Schools, Southeast Region
Phyllis Taylor – ([email protected])
Fayette County Schools, Southwest Region
Paul Rainwater – ([email protected]
Tennessee Department of Education

similar documents